progression | part 3

by lani

december 14

we had to do it alone.

web ready-003

we were alone when we summoned his body from the earth, and now, alone, we return the sum of our bodies to the earth and water and air and elements.

web ready-005

these ashes feel hideously indecent, powdered triune nakedness.

web ready-007

web ready-009

web ready-010i pour into my hand and they slip through my fingers, soft and caressing like a baby’s touch.

web ready-011

web ready-013

fine like baby powder.
fine like powdered baby.

web ready-015

web ready-017

i strew my heart and my passion and my future and my body along this river. spiritual and carnal comingle, cold rain and hot tears. the water and ash make mud in my hand, and this is creation. i hold the stuff of adam.

creation and desolation, beginning and end.

web ready-018 dyptich

alpha omega is here, in this infinite moment.
distilled and destroyed image of god.
breath and dust.

i breathe. i choke hot dusty sorrow. it is finished.

web ready-023

but it is also beginning.

web ready-024

a small seed of rainbow, the root of ash, nestled in the womb, a circular room that circles from beginning to end. sky’s life began and ended here; ash’s life begins … and begins again. old mud is formed into a baby who is not yet powdered, bringing forth order from chaos.

web ready-028

web ready-032

i have two babies: one knit into order, the other flung into chaos. earth and water and breath course through the baby of order. the baby of chaos is in the earth and air and sky. my sky child, and my ash child.

web ready-034

a paradox:
my baby who is ash is not called ash, and my baby who is called ash is not yet ash.

web ready-035the beginning and the end curve together into a circle, and binding them in orbit is love.

